ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA



FIREARMS (AMENDMENT) ACT, 2016

No. 19 of 2016

[Published in the Official Gazette Vol. XXXVII No. 9 dated 9th February, 2017.]

Printed at the Government Printing Office, Antigua and Barbuda, by Philip P. Ashterman, Acting Government Printer
— By Authority, 2017.

500—2.17 [Price \$2.25]

ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA

FIREARMS (AMENDMENT) ACT, 2016

ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS

Sections

- 1. Short Title
- 2. Interpretation
- 3. Amendment of section 6(2) of the principal Act
- 4. Amendment of section 7(1) (a) of the principal Act



I Assent,

Rodney Williams, Governor-General.

25th January, 2017.

ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA

FIREARMS (AMENDMENT) ACT 2016

No. 19 of 2016

AN ACT to amend the Firearm Act, Cap 171 in order to grant the Director and officers of the ONDCP an exemption with respect to firearm user's licence.

ENACTED by the Parliament of Antigua and Barbuda as follows—

1. Short title

This Act may be cited as the Firearms (Amendment) Act, 2016.

2. Interpretation

In this Act "principal Act" means the Firearms Act, Cap. 171.

3. Amendment of section 6(2) of the principal Act

Section 6(2) of the principal Act is amended—

(a) by deleting the word "or" appearing in line 7 and substituting therefor a comma (","); and

5

(b) by deleting the full stop appearing at the end of the said subsection and substituting therefor the following " or the Director and officers of the ONDCP in the execution of their functions under the Office of National Drug and Money Laundering Control Policy Act."

4. Amendment of section 7 (1) (a) of the principal Act.

Paragraph (a) of section 7(1) of the principal Act is amended—

- (a) deleting the word "or" appearing in line 2 thereof and substituting therefor a comma (","); and
- (b) by inserting after the words "as such" appearing in line 3 thereof the following "or the Director and officers of the ONDCP acting in their capacities as such ".

Passed by the House of Representatives on the 8th day of December, 2016.

Passed by the Senate on the 19th day of December, 2016.

Gerald Watt, Q.C.,

Speaker

Alinicia Williams Grant,
President

Ramona Small, Clerk to the House of Representatives Ramona Small, Clerk to the Senate