CHAPTER 37

LOCAL GOVERNMENT

PARTI

Subsidiary Legislation made under the Local Government Administration Act, 1926

DECLARATION OF DISTRICTS

(SECTION 4)

the following Districts have been declared:

1. District of Cat Island with the following _{S.I. 28/1968} boundaries —

The Island of Cat Island together with the Island of Little San Salvador and all islands and cays within four leagues of the shore line of Cat Island.

2. District of Long Island.

G.N. 86/1933.

3. District of San Salvador and Rum Cay.

G.N. 16/1936.

4. District of Harbour Island with the following boundaries —

G.N. 140/1937.

Harbour Island and all that part of the Island of Eleuthera, from sea to sea, beginning three miles northwest of the Settlement of Gregory Town to the end of the Island northwardly; and also all islands and cays adjacent to Harbour Island and lying off that part of the coast of Eleuthera, including St. George's Cay, Current Island, Egg Island and Six Shillings, with head-quarters at Harbour Island.

5. District of Governor's Harbour with the following boundaries —

G.N. 140/1937.

All that part of the Island of Eleuthera, from sea to sea, lying between a line drawn three miles to the south of the Settlement of Savannah Sound and a line drawn three miles to the northwest of the Settlement of Gregory Town;

and also all islands and cays lying off that part of the coast, including Finley Cay, with headquarters at Governor's Harbour.

G.N. 140/1937.

6. District of Rock Sound with the following boundaries —

All that part of the Island of Eleuthera, from sea to sea, lying between a line drawn three miles south of the Settlement of Savannah Sound to the end of the Island southeastwardly; and also all islands and cays lying off that part of the coast but not including "Little Island", with headquarters at Rock Sound.

S.I. 28/1968.

7. District of Kemps Bay with the following boundaries —

On the north by the northern shore of Northern Bight and including the whole of the mainland and islands and cays to the south of that boundary and west by the Tongue of the Ocean, extending southeast of the mainland of Andros.

GN 78/1949

8. District of Fresh Creek with the following boundaries —

On the south by the northern shore of Northern Bight and including all that part of Andros north of that line together with all adjacent cays lying off the east coast, to the southern side of Stafford Creek.

S.I. 75/1979.

9. The District of Cooper's Town, Abaco, with the following boundaries —

On the southeast by the channel between Whale Cay and Great Guana Cay, thence to the north end of the locality known as Turtle Rocks thence across the mainland of Abaco to Matthew Point on the western coast, thence in a line running south by east to include the Wollendean Cays, with headquarters at Cooper's Town.

This District includes the mainland of Great Abaco, Little Abaco, and all the Abaco range of cays situate to north and northwest of the southeast boundary described above and extending as far as Walker's Cay Channel, comprising the settlements Green Turtle Cay, Black Wood and Big Grape Tree, Fire Road, Cooper's Town, Cedar Harbour, Wood Cay, Mount Hope, Fox Town, Crown Haven, Stranger's Cay, Grand Cay and Walker's Cay.

10. District of Sandy Point with the following boundaries —

S.I. 28/1968.

On the north by a line across the Island of Abaco from west to east through the northern end of Crossing Rocks Bay, then south to Hole-in-the-Wall, northwest to Sandy Point and northeast to a point due west of the northern end of Crossing Rocks Bay.

This District also includes the islands of Moore's Island, Gorda Cays and all small islands and cays adjacent to the mainland of Abaco described above or within three leagues of Moore's Island or the Gorda Cays.

11. District of Marsh Harbour with the following boundaries —

S.I. 22/1968.

On the north or northwest by a line running from the channel between Whale Cay and Great Guana Cay, thence along the north end of the locality known as Turtle Rocks to the mainland of Abaco, thence across the land to Matthew Point on the western coast and thence to the south end of the Wollenden Cays.

12. District of West End with the following boundaries —

G.N. 96/1963.

An imaginary line running from West End Point along the entire length of Grand Bahama on the north in an easterly direction to a group of cays north of McClean's Town and thence in a southerly direction to East End Point, including all adjacent cays from West End Point to East End Point; on the south by an imaginary line running from West End Point eastwardly to Hawksbill Creek and thence from Gold Rock Creek to East End Point, with headquarters at West End.

This District includes the mainland of Grand Bahama from West End Point to Hawksbill Creek and the settlements east of Gold Rock Creek.

13. District of High Rock with the following boundaries —

S.I. 29/1968.

All that portion of the Island of Grand Bahama which lies east of the eastern bank of Gold Rock Creek and a line extended from that bank to the northern shore of the Island and all adjacent cays to the north, south and east of this area.

S.I. 88/1976.

14. District of Eight Mile Rock and Freeport, Grand Bahama with the following boundaries —

All that portion of the Island of Grand Bahama which lies to the west of the western Boundary of the High Rock District, i.e. the eastern Bank of Gold Rock Creek and a line extended from that bank to the northern shore of the Island including the settlements of Pinder's Point, Hunters, Lewis Yard, Smith's Point, Mather Town, Russell and William's Town together with all islands and cays to the north and west of this part of the Island and situated within three leagues thereof.

S.I. 284/1963.

15. District of Crooked Island, comprising the islands of Long Cay, Acklins and Crooked Islands, with headquarters at Colonel Hill, Crooked Island.

S.I. 137/1965.

16. District of Exuma Island with headquarters at the Settlement of Georgetown.

S.I. 137/1965.

17. District of Inagua Island with headquarters at the Settlement of Matthew Town.

S.I. 137/1965.

18. District of Ragged Island with headquarters at Duncan Town.

S.I. 12/1983.

- **19.** The District of Nicholl's Town, Andros is hereby constituted with the following boundaries
 - (a) on the south by the southern side of Stafford Creek and including all that part of Andros north of that line; and
 - (b) Joulter Cays and all islands and cays situated within 15 miles of the north-westernmost point of the Island of Andros.

with headquarters at Nicholl's Town.

S.I. 12/1983.

- **20.** The District of Bimini and the Berry Islands is hereby constituted with the following boundaries
 - (a) the islands of North and South Bimini, Cat Cay and all islands and cays adjacent thereto or associated therewith, and including Great Isaacs Light Station; and
 - (b) all islands and cays in the Berry Islands,

with headquarters at Alice Town Bimini.